Artificial Intelligence

Carnegie Mellon has been a leader in AI research since Herbert Simon and Allen Newell invented the field in the 1950s. Since then, the AI has evolved to address problems of probabilistic and numeric nature, leading to the incorporation of approaches from mathematics, engineering, operations research and economics. Our researchers scientifically build upon each others’ work, and research from other disciplines, creating analytical and highly systematic experimental work. The resulting AI systems can deal with uncertainty — both in an objective sense and in the sense that arises in those AI applications that include non-trivial perception.

The explosion of computerized information on the Internet, in data warehouses, and from physical sensory artifacts has also created large-scale problems for AI research. Carnegie Mellon has been at the forefront of that progress, with pioneering innovations in intelligent digital libraries, data representations and algorithms, market clearing technologies, and complex task-embedded robotic applications. Carnegie Mellon faculty are recognized for their leadership in expanding beyond monolithic AI to multiagent systems, where the key challenge is the intelligent interaction of multiple parties. Finally, Carnegie Mellon faculty have led AI from the abstract (“Can one build a thinking machine?”) to a host of concrete applications and techniques that are significantly improving the world.

Faculty working in this area:

Lastsort descending First Title Email
Balcan Nina Associate Professor ninamf@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Avrim Professor avrim@cs.cmu.edu
Carbonell Jaime Director LTI; Newell University Professor jgc@cs.cmu.edu
Dannenberg Roger Professor rbd@cs.cmu.edu
Datta Anupam Associate Professor, CSD, ECE danupam@andrew.cmu.edu
Erdmann Michael Professor, Computer Science and Robotics me@cs.cmu.edu
Fahlman Scott Emeritus Faculty sef@cs.cmu.edu
Faloutsos Christos Professor christos@cs.cmu.edu
Fink Eugene Senior Systems Scientist eugenefink@cmu.edu
Gatterbauer Wolfgang Assistant Professor gatt@andrew.cmu.edu
Goldstein Seth Associate Professor seth@cs.cmu.edu
Gupta Anupam Professor anupamg@cs.cmu.edu
Hodgins Jessica Professor jkh@cs.cmu.edu
Lee Tai-Sing Professor tai@cs.cmu.edu
Mason Matthew Professor, Computer Science and Robotics matt.mason@cs.cmu.edu
Maxion Roy Research Professor maxion@cs.cmu.edu
Mitchell Tom E. Fredkin University Professor mitchell@cs.cmu.edu
Moore Andrew Professor and Dean awm@cs.cmu.edu
Morris James Professor jhm@cs.cmu.edu
Pollard Nancy Associate Professor nsp@cs.cmu.edu
Procaccia Ariel Assistant Professor arielpro@cs.cmu.edu
Reddy Raj Moza Bint Nasser University Professor reddy@cs.cmu.edu
Rudnicky Alexander Emeritus Faculty ar28@andrew.cmu.edu
Sandholm Tuomas Professor sandholm@cs.cmu.edu
Schwartz Russell Professor russells@andrew.cmu.edu
Siewiorek Daniel Buhl University Professor of Electrical And Computer Engineering And Computer Science dps@cs.cmu.edu
Simmons Reid Research Professor reids@cs.cmu.edu
Sleator Daniel Professor sleator@cs.cmu.edu
Touretzky David Research Professor dst@cs.cmu.edu
Veloso Manuela M. Department Head for Machine Learning & Herbert A. Simon University Professor of Computer Science veloso@cmu.edu
Wactlar Howard Alumni Research Professor hdw@cs.cmu.edu
Xing Eric P. Professor epxing@cs.cmu.edu
Yang Jean Assistant Professor jyang2@andrew.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Artificial Intelligence